old exterior

A Dining Experience with A Touch of History

From sometime around 1939 a small gas station diner on the side of what was then Highway 40 (today's Business Loop) held the name Glenn's Cafe. Originally opened by Glenn Purdy and his wife Tilley, it enjoyed a 40+ year run at that location, starting as little more than a diner but graduating to more substantial cooking, Glenn's and it's eponymous sign became a favorite of weary travelers and local families alike.

In the early 80′s the business, and sign, were purchased by Stephen Cupp and then moved in 1988 to downtown Columbia for the first time to the corner of 9th and Cherry Streets, in what is now the Shortwave Coffee building where it remained with an ever growing New Orleans' influence.